Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Plaça Cívica
08193 Cerdanyola del Vallès , BA
Barcelona ES
Record Status: 
Short description: 

The history of the UAB begins on 6 June 1968, when the decree on the creation of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) is officially promulgated. One month later the first four faculties are created: Philosophy and Arts, Medicine, Science and Economics. That same July 1968, Dr Vicent Villar Palasí was named president of the Promotional Committee of the UAB, a position which he maintained until August 1970, in which he became president of the Board of Trustees and the first rector of the UAB. Teaching activities at the UAB began in October 1968 in two of the new centres: the Faculty of Philosophy and Arts, which was located in the Monastery of Sant Cugat del Vallès, and the Faculty of Medicine, which was located at the Hospital de Santa Creu i Sant Pau in Barcelona. The hospital recovered its condition as a university hospital and became the first centre of clinical training of the UAB. The following academic year, in 1969/70, classes began to be offered at the Faculty of Science, also located at the Sant Pau Hospital, and the Faculty of Economics and Business Studies, located at the Language School of Barcelona, in the Drassanes neighbourhood. The initial stages of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona ended with the creation of the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Information Sciences in 1971, theUniversity School of Translators and Interpreters in 1972 and the “Sant Cugat” University School of Teachers in 1973.

(Source: UAB Homepage)

People affiliated with this organization:

Name Residency
Lucas Ramada Prieto
Record posted by: 
Lucas Ramada Prieto
The permanent URL of this page::