Theresa Marie Sperre

Record Status: 
Short biography: 

I am Theresa Marie Sperre, 41, single mother of two (boy 10, girl 4), living in Bergen, Norway. I have moved 30 times in my life. I have lived at Ellingsøya near Ålesund, at Ny-Ålesund (Spitsbergen), in Arendal, Oslo, Skotterud and now in Bergen for 20 years. In Bergen I have lived at 14 different addresses. I don’t want to move ever again.

I have traveled a lot, visiting countries like Sweden, Denmark, Finland, England, Scotland, Spain, Italy, Thailand, and USA (Nevada, California, Florida). My youngest child has already been on a plane more than 30 times, I think curiosity is a quality we should nourish from the very start, and traveling is an easy way to that. I also bring my kids to flea markets and hunt for treasures there, telling them stories about items from my childhood and encouraging them to make up their own little tales about the items they find.

I have always been interested in how we learn, create meaning, communicate and share, what makes us connect and how we separate ourselves from others. My first time as a student I chose to study psychology and culture. My main paper was about advertising as a communicator of culture with TV-commercials as an example. Back then we only had one TV channel with commercials in Norway.

I got online in 1997 and made my first webpage back then in Geocities. The poetry that I posted there probably does not count as electronic literature, but I had a lot of fun doing it. I have written poetry and stories in my diaries as far back as i can remember. I started reading when i was 4 years old, and have always loved books. I also love to take pictures, and have annoyed countless friends and family members with taking pictures of my food for years, long before Instagram was invented.

Between finishing my first bachelor i 1995 and starting my bachelor of Digital Culture in 2012 I have worked with communication in many different ways, from PR to HR, customer service, teaching, taking care of children, blogging etc. Along with my studies of Digital Culture, I will also attend a class in “Witch-Trials and the Magical World View” this fall. My long term goal is a Master in Digital Culture where i want to write about advertising in the digital world and cultural communication.

Full Name: 
Theresa Marie Sperre
The permanent URL of this page: 
Record posted by: 
Natalia Fedorova